RSS

Amnesia

22 Apr

 

Nyakio, how soon you forget!
Have you forgotten the way we looked into each other’s eyes
As we swung to the rhythm of the ‘Mwomboko’
Daughter of the Earth,
Do you not remember the beads of sweat on my face,
The gyrations of my body or my strong arm on yours

Where was He,
Bone of my bones whence he come from
He of the Munjiru Clan,
He of countless Oxen.

See Nyakio, see how they laugh
Have they too forgotten you were betrothed to me!
Do they not care,
Do they not care that my people will be put to shame.

You with a face as smooth as a baby’s buttocks,
You resembling the hills and valleys of this our land,
You who are rightfully mine;
Is it me you bequeath that scornfull stare!

Daughter of the Earth,
You who now feigns a short memory
I’ll learn to forget, my people too
But the God of Kirinyaga,
He who knows my today and your tomorrow;
Wont!

©njugunaXavier2011

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 22, 2011 in Emotions, Family, Relationships

 

One response to “Amnesia

  1. Baru

    April 23, 2011 at 8:41 am

    ‘Do you not remember the beads of sweat
    on my face,
    The gyrations of my body or my strong
    arm on yours?’

    You paint such vivid images…i can see the young man dancing, sweat dripping all over his face trying t impress Nyakio when I read that

     

Leave a Reply

 
